Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 16 October 2019

Pliyeva, Zhanna Vasil′yevnalocked

  • Alla Vladimirovna Grigor′yeva


(b Tskhinvali, Southern Ossetia, Feb 10, 1949). Ossetian composer and pianist. She graduated from the Rimsky-Korsakov State Conservatory, Leningrad, in 1972 having studied the piano with D. Svetozarov and composition with Orest Yevlakhov and A. Mnatsakanian (with whom she studied as a graduate); in 1979 she worked there for a probationary period as assistant to Sergey Slonimsky. She became a member of the Composers’ Union in 1976. She was a prize-winner in the All-Union Composers’ Competition in 1977 and in the Tokyo International Composers’ Competition, 1993. She is an honoured artist of Republic of Northern Ossetia-Alania, 1993. After having various posts as orchestral musician, teacher and researcher (including director of Tskhinvali School of Music, 1979–85, and president of the Praesidium of the Georgian Music Society, 1989–90), since 1990 she has devoted herself to full-time composition.

Pliyeva’s works combine the mythology and musical dialects of the mountain peoples of the northern Caucasus with a contemporary idiom which is notable for its passion of utterance and natural ease of fantasy. This fusion of the latest techniques with the imagery of epic poetry is evident in the First Symphony (soprano, strings and percussion) and in the one-movement Third Symphony. The specific links between Pliyeva’s music and Ossetian culture form part of a broader, non-explicit connection with the ancient art of the northern Caucasus. These links are expressed not in the musical language but in the way of thinking and in faithfulness to the spirit of her native culture....

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.

Sovetskaya muzïka