Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 06 March 2021

Grigsby [née Pinsky], Beverlylocked

  • Catherine Parsons Smith


(b Chicago, Jan 11, 1928). American composer. She studied ballet and frequently attended theatrical performances in Chicago before moving to Los Angeles in 1941. After three years of premedical study she changed to composition and became a pupil of Krenek, who introduced her to electronic music in 1958. She attended California State University, Northridge (BA 1961, MA 1963). Grigsby's further studies included computer music at Stanford University and Carnegie Mellon University (Pittsburgh), where she was a fellow, and medieval music at Solesmes, France, and the RCM in London. In 1963 she returned to California State University, Northridge, where she founded the computer music studio and taught until she retired in 1992. She was awarded the DMA from the University of Southern California in 1986.

Grigsby's operas and dramatic cantatas have been produced in the USA, Europe and Brazil. The complex melodic and rhythmic elements of her music are tempered by its lyricism. She often uses a synthesizer to generate sonic layers horizontally interwoven with either acoustic or electronically altered sounds produced by live performers, as in ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.