Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 23 October 2019

Mason, Benedictlocked

  • Richard Toop


(b London, June 21, 1955). English composer. He studied at Kings College, Cambridge (1971–5) and took a degree in film making at the Royal College of Art (1975–8). He turned to composition relatively late, after the age of 30, but immediately attracted attention with his first acknowledged work, Hinterstoisser Traverse (1986). He subsequently won the Guido d'Arezzo International Composers’ Competition with Oil and Petrol Marks on a Wet Road are Sometimes Held to be Spots Where a Rainbow Stood (1988) while his first orchestral piece, Lighthouses of England and Wales, was awarded first prize in the Benjamin Britten Composers’ Competition in 1988.

Mason's early works display a characteristically postmodern stylistic diversity, which arises in part from their ‘investigative’ intentions: the String Quartet no.1 examines various modes of travelling, Lighthouses of England and Wales analyses the phenomenon of ‘sea music’, while ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.