Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 22 April 2021

Saunders, Rebeccalocked

  • Robert Adlington
  • , revised by James Saunders


(b London, Dec 19, 1967). British composer. After early training as a violinist and a degree course at Edinburgh University, she studied composition with Rihm in Karlsruhe, Germany (1991–4), before returning to Edinburgh to complete a PhD with Nigel Osborne (1994–7). Since 1997 she has been resident in Berlin. Saunders has won a number of prizes, including those from the Academy of Arts in Berlin (1995) and the Ernst von Siemens Foundation (1996), the ARD/BMW AG Musica Viva Prize (2000), the Paul Hindemith Prize (2003), and the Royal Philharmonic Society Composition Award for Chamber Music (2008). She was a lecturer at the Darmstadt Ferienkurse (2000), and composer-in-residence at the Konzerthaus Dortmund (2005–6) and the Staatskapelle Dresden (2009–10). From 1997–2000 her works have been published by Edition Peters London, thereafter by C.F. Peters....

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.

Musical Times
Komponisten der Gegenwart, ed. H.-W. Heister and W.-W. Sparrer