Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 27 January 2020

Shaw, Caroline (Adelaide )locked

  • Meg Wilhoite


(Adelaide )

(b Greenville, NC, 1982). American composer, violinist, and vocalist . She received degrees from Rice University (BMus, Golliard fellowship, 2004) and Yale University (MMus, Yale Baroque Ensemble fellowship, 2007), and became a doctoral fellow at Princeton University in 2010. Her piece Partita for Eight Voices won the Pulitzer Prize for Music in 2013, making her the youngest-ever recipient of the award. The première of Partita was performed by the vocal ensemble Roomful of Teeth (Grammy Award for Best Chamber Music/Small Ensemble performance, 2014), with whom she regularly performs. As a violinist, she performs with American contemporary music ensemble (ACME). Though her works have been widely performed, she considers herself a performer first and composer second (New York Times, 2014).

Partita for Eight Voices is a 26-minute work in four movements, which received their premières individually between 2009 and 2011 at the Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Art; the work was first performed in full at Le Poisson Rouge in New York City on ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.