Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 16 October 2019

Prokofiev [Prokof’yev; Prokofieff], Sergey (opera) [Serge] (Sergeyevich)locked

  • Richard Taruskin


[Serge] (Sergeyevich)

(b Sontsovka, Bakhmut district, Yekaterinoslav gubeniya [now Krasnoye, Selidovsky district, Donetsk region, Ukraine], 15/April 27, 1891; d Moscow, March 5, 1953). Russian composer .

Prokofiev’s operatic career began at the age of eight (with Velikan, ‘The Giant’, a 12-page opera in three acts), and he always saw himself first and foremost as a composer of music for the lyric stage. If this seems surprising, it is not only because of Prokofiev’s great success in the realm of instrumental concert music but also because of the singularly unlucky fate of his operas. Of the seven he completed, he saw only four produced; of the four, only two survived their initial production; and of the two, only one really entered the repertory. As usual in such cases, the victim has been blamed: ‘Through all his writings about opera there runs a streak of loose thinking and naivety’, wrote one critic, ‘and it runs through the works, too’. That – plus a revolution, a world war and a repressive totalitarian regime whose unfathomable vagaries the composer could never second-guess – indeed made for a frustrating career. Yet time has begun to vindicate some of those long-suffering works, and we may be glad that despite everything (and unlike Shostakovich) Prokofiev persisted as an operatic composer practically to the end....

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.

Sovetskaya muzïka
Österreichische Musikzeitschrift
Musical Quarterly
Musical Times
Proceedings of the Royal Musical Association