Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Grove Music Online. Grove is a registered trademark. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy).

date: 14 November 2019

Rosenblum, Mathewlocked

  • Don C. Gillespie
  •  and Alan Shockley


(b New York, NY, 19 March 1954). Composer. He studied at the New England Conservatory (BM 1977, MM 1979) and Princeton University (MFA 1981, PhD 1992), where his teachers included Milton Babbitt and Paul Lansky. In 1991, he joined the music department at the University of Pittsburgh, where he remains a professor and has served as department chair. Among his awards are grants from the Rockefeller Foundation (1980), the ACA (1987), and the Pennsylvania Council on the Arts (1994), and commissions from the Fromm Foundation, Newband, the Stony Brook Contemporary Players, the Rascher Saxophone Quartet, and the Boston Modern Orchestra Project. He has held residencies at the MacDowell Colony, the Djerassi Foundation, the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, and Yaddo. In 1990, his microtonal work Continental Drift was performed at the ISCM World Music Days in Oslo. His multimedia chamber opera, ...

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Please subscribe to access the full content.

Contemporary Music Review